Baked tofu

When I first start eating a vegetarian diet I hated tofu- it always tasted bland! As years went by, I’ve learned that Tofu can be very tasty, as long as you treat it right ☺

So, press your tofu at least for an hour prior to seasoning it and it will taste divinely! Yesterday, I went for a baked tofu version, which I hadn’t tried before, and I’ve enjoyed it very much! So, I’ll share it with you ☺

This is what I’ve done:

After pressing the Tofu for an hour or so, I diced it and put it into THE SAUCE!!!!!

The sauce had:

125 ml white wine

2 TBSP olive oil

1 TBSP soy sauce

2 TBSP of balsamic vinegar

2 TBSP LEMON JUICE

2 garlic cloves (diced)

3 dried tomatos (chopped)

1 tsp thyme

1 handful of chopped basil

 

I marinate it for an hour, and baked in a 200ºC/ 400ºF woven, for 20 minutes, flipping it after 10 minutes. Finally, I placed it under the grill for 5 extra minutes…and was this yummy, or what?

DSCF8351 DSCF8349

My inspiration wasthe Italian Tofu depicted in the Vegan with a vengeance of the ver much talented  Isa Chandra Moskowitz!

About Inês

Hi everybody! I am a dedicated yogin trying to make the best of this wonderful experience called living!
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Baked tofu

  1. maeussle says:

    Can you come and cook this for me? 😉 What exactly do you mean by “pressing” the tofu. I’ve never cooked tofu before so that’s why I’m not familiar with the term. Either way, looks like a delicious and nutritious meal 🙂

    • Inês says:

      😉 Thank you! I ‘m heading your way 🙂
      You press tofu by placing the block between a kitchen cloth and putting your heaviest cookbook on top! This will get rid of all the water inside it, so you can season it properly 🙂

      • maeussle says:

        Great! Thank you for sharing 🙂 Maybe one of these days I’ll be brave enough to cook it myself. My hubby won’t come near it and cooking it just for myself sounds like half as fun. Maybe when my mom will come to visit me by the end of this year I can experiment with her 😉

  2. Inês says:

    If you press it, you can’t get it wrong! Make sure you cut into pieces also 🙂

Leave a Reply

