Yoga anatomy

Yoga Anatomy

Some time ago, in college, I had to deal with this huge subject called Human Anatomy! It was so difficult that despite being a first year subject, people used to say that when you nailed it, you had your degree! I’ve always enjoyed studying anatomy, but the exam was dreadful: all students (like 300) were put in a room and stay there till there turn to make the exam came! Sometimes, you could wait five hours, hearing a bell ringing every minute! Yes, you were supposed to walk in a room with several tables with human body parts, and you could spent up to a minute in each table to identify whatever was asked. Then, the bell rang and you were supposed to move on to another table…I still have nightmares with this!

Still, I truly believe that everything happens for a reason, and now that I am studying yoga, my anatomy knowledge does come handy! As a matter of fact, I have been asked to teach a course on Yoga anatomy! I am having a blast preparing this! I am using several books, but the one I love the most is this one: Yoga Anatomy, by Leslie Kaminoff.

I am trying to do an approach to help yoga professionals dealing with their students’ problems! In the first module I will be focusing on back pain – Why it happens? How can we treat it with yoga? What asanas should we avoid? Maybe a new path is being build! I am so excited about this! I am learning so much!

Xoxo

About Inês

Hi everybody! I am a dedicated yogin trying to make the best of this wonderful experience called living!
This entry was posted in Books, Yoga and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

