When life gives you lemons…

I am trying to incorporate some yoga concepts in my daily living. And I am trying this because, even though you may find the yoga philosophy amazing, it will do you no good if you don´t apply it…you have to “eat the meal”!

018

Christina Sell (fabulous yoga teacher) talked about “eating your meal” in a talk she had about one professor of her that said that reading about yoga but not practicing was like to making this amazing gourmet meal and not eating it!

So, as I try my best to “eat my meal”, I’ve found that it always works better when I plan ahead. I’ve been dealing with Patanjali’s yamas (it’s a kind of list of ethical principles), trying to observe them and follow them in my everyday life! I set myself to work on one yama each day, and at the end of the day I usually feel pretty good about myself! I hope that by following the plan, eventually I won’t need to think to behave in a certain way, because it will become who I am!

However, sometimes life throws you a curve ball and you can’t plan ahead…this has challenge written all over!

A couple of days ago I got this unbelievable unfair complaint at work… I won’t talk you through since I am determined to keep this thing in its place, in its proper dimension! Still, whem I think about it, it is horrible: my heart beats faster, I feel a mild dull headache …I feel like doing this and that, and that certainly will show her, right? Wrong!!!! I catch myself having these thoughts and I say no! This is not going to rule my life in the next few days….my precious time won’t be spend on this! I will let it go to stay where it belongs – in the past! And I will move on!

016

Seriously, it is working! I have been having the most amazing days…and I wasn’t supposed to – that thing should have been bugging me! But I guess my effort to live in the present has been paying off!

Xoxo

About Inês

Hi everybody! I am a dedicated yogin trying to make the best of this wonderful experience called living!
This entry was posted in Yoga and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When life gives you lemons…

  1. maeussle says:

    It is so hard to not live in the past sometimes, isn’t it? Good for you for getting over it quickly! I’m still working on that…baby steps 🙂

  2. Inês says:

    Hi there! Yes, I think it is the most difficult thing to do! But baby steps are important steps that you keep you in the right direction 🙂

Leave a Reply

