Back to the kitchen!

It keeps raining…I think it has been raining for a month now! I don’t mind! I like rain! I like cozy afternoons knitting and cooking! And today, I did it both!

The knitting part, I will show you latter, when it is finished! The cooking part, I will show you now: Lemmon muffins with poppy seeds. Again my inspiratuion was: Chocolate-covered-Katie ☺

These are vegan and gluten-free and today, they are amazing…tomorrow, I don’t know! Going gluten-free has this problem – you must eat the whole bunch the day you cook them! Still, I have ran 8 km in the morning, so let them come ☺

DSCF8016

You will need:

  • ¾ cup corn flour
  • ¼ cup corn starch
  • 1 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1TBSP poppy seeds
  • 1/3 cup agave + 2TBSP
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil
  • ¼ cup coconut milk (put the can in the fridge, and remove the thick part aside – you’ll need it for the frosting)
  • 2 TBSP lemon juice
  • 2 TBSP oat milk (check for gluten-free)

Mix the dry and wet ingredients in separate bowls. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ones, and mix. Place in muffins pans (I used silicone) and cook in 180ºC (350ºF) oven for 22 minutes (or until cooked).

Let the muffins cool while you prepare the frosting. You will need:

  • 2 TBSP coconut milk (the thick part you kept aside)
  • 1 TBSP agave
  • 2 TBSP lemon juice
  • 1 TBSP poppy seeds

Mix all ingredients together and place the mixture in the fridge.

Coconut milk is not very temperature stable. You should only cover your muffins when they cool down, and immediately before eating them, or the frosting might melt – check my pictures!

DSCF8017

It is still tasty, but not as good looking!

Enjoy!

About Inês

Hi everybody! I am a dedicated yogin trying to make the best of this wonderful experience called living!
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

